Book One
Book 1
By: Michelle Pennington

The Unwanted Suitor


When Cornelia Greystock received a proposal from Sir James Hawkston, she couldn’t bear it. It had been inspired, she knew, from pity and remorse—not love. Unable to face him afterward, she leaped at an offer of employment from the Countess, Lady Du’Breven. Serving as her companion, Cornelia struggles to adjust to the change in her social status, but the hard work distracts her from her broken heart. That is, until the Countess decides to hold a summer house party at her family estate and invites Sir James.

Sir James has never recovered from his disappointment when Miss Greystock refused his proposal and then fled, according to her family, to live with an unheard-of aunt in Ireland. When he grudgingly accepts an invitation to Lady Du’Breven’s house party, however, he is astounded to find Miss Greystock there. One thing is certain—this time he’ll court her the way he always should have. He is almost certain she returns his feelings, but he must tread carefully. If she refuses his proposal a second time, it would not be gentlemanly to ask a third. As time grows short and she continues to hold him at arms-length, will he find a way to at last win her hand?

The Unwanted Suitor is one of five books all set at the same Regency House Party. While each is a standalone story, watch our characters mingle together with others from the other books in the series. The stories are clean romances and can be read in any order.

Report content

More in this series.

more books by this author.

USA Today Bestselling Author Michelle Pennington writes clean romance across genres. She spends her days quoting movies with her husband and making messes faster than her four kids. She watches too many k-dramas and procrastinates on a professional level, but somehow squeezes time into her crazy life to write stories—mostly because she loves her characters but desperately wants to get them out of her head.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Unwanted Suitor”